The UN Resident Coordinator Office

The Resident Coordinator’s Office (RCO) in Nigeria coordinates the work of the UN system in support of the roles and responsibilities of the Resident Coordinator and the UN Country Team (UNCT). The Resident Coordinator leads the UNCT in consultations with the Government to define and agree on the UN system’s strategic response to the Government’s development priorities. The UNCT is currently composed of 19 resident and 4 non-resident entities.                                           

The UN system’s strategic response is currently being provided under the 2018-2022 United Nations Sustainable Development Partnership Framework (UNSDPF) signed with the Federal Government of Nigeria. The 2018-2022 UNSDPF has applied Standard Operation Procedures for UN coherence, lays great emphasis on partnerships and, focusses on SDGs as the foundation for development. The 2018-2020 UNSDPF serves as the UN systems collective support to Nigeria’s 2017-2020 Economic Recovery and Growth Plan (ERGP), the Global 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda and the Africa Union Agenda 2063.

The RC Office coordinates support to 10 core functions performed by the RC and/or UNCT:

  • Strategic analysis and planning;
  • Oversight of the UN country programming cycle;
  • Representation and support of UN secretariat, UN agencies/NRAa;
  • Support to national coordination systems and processes;
  • Development and management of shared operational support services;
  • Crisis management and preparedness response;
  • External communications and advocacy;
  • Human rights and development;
  • Joint Resource Mobilization and fund management;
  • General UNCT oversight and management.

     

The RCO Team

• Mr. Matthias Schmale

  UN Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator (a.i)

  Email: matthias.schmale@un.org

• Ms. Thembekile Dube-Ncube 

  Development Coordination Officer, Partnerships & Development/ Acting Head of RCO

  Email: dubet@un.org

• Ms. Kimairis Toogood

  Peace and Development Advisor

  Email: kimairis.toogood@un.org

• Ms. Adwoa Kufuor-Owusu

  Senior Human Rights Adviser (OHCHR)

  Email: kufuora@un.org

• Mr. Ronald Kayanja

  Director, UN Information Centre (UNIC)

  Email: kayanjar@un.org

• Ms. Anu John

  Planning Specialist/ Special Assist. to the RC

  Email: anu.john@one.un.org

• Mr. Nonso Obikili

  Development Coordination Officer, Economist

  Email: nonso.obikili@un.org

• Ms. Ayodeji Olugbemi

  Associate Development Coordination Officer, Data Management

  Email: ayodeji.olugbemi@un.org